Tuesday, October 13, 2009

the Filipino flag

At my Filipino Culture class we learned about the flag of the Philippines. The three small stars represent the main islands of the Philippines; Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. The sun's eight rays represent the eight provinces in Luzon.

This flag below looks exactly the same as the photo above, except that the blue stripe is on the bottom and the red stripe is on the top. It is used when the Philippines is at war.

I am really enjoying learning about the Philippines in culture class!

~By Amy


Anonymous said...

How do you say, "I love you" in Philippines? because Ms. Kay loves you and your family. We miss you too much!

us5 said...

"I love you" is: "Nahigugma 'ko nimo."
We love and miss you, too!

Lois said...

The symbolism in the flag is very interesting! Good job, Amy!

Lori said...

That is really neat Amy. Why does Luzon get special treatment with sun rays but the other two islands are merely represented by a star? Did you know that soldiers in the US wear the American flag on their uniform backward to show they are at war? I would love to see Mr. Galemore's flag the way I remember it when we first met. :-) Love hearing about what you are learning. Thank you for sharing it with us.

us5 said...

It is because Luzon is the largest and most economically and politically important island and because its eight provinces were the first to declare themselves in a state of war during the Philippine Revolution.